HafenCity Hamburg GmbH provides for integrated development management for the whole district. Here you can find information on the municipal company and the management and regulatory bodies that serve it

Executive Board

The Executive Board of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH comprises Jürgen Bruns-Berentelg (chairman) and Giselher Schultz-Berndt

Prof. Jürgen Bruns-Berentelg

Chief Executive Officer

Contact via Linn Sahlmann (send mail)
Executive Assistant

Further information more

Giselher Schultz-Berndt

Managing Director

Further information more

Supervisory Board


The Supervisory Board of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH

The supervisory board was set up in 1995 on the founding of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH (then GHS Gesellschaft für Hafen- und Standortentwicklung mbH), 100 per cent owned by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg. Supervisory Board members are representatives of the Hamburg Senate; their task is to look after the interests of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg. The ongoing development and implementation of the Masterplan that takes place during realization of HafenCity Hamburg will be authorized by HafenCity Hamburg GmbH.

Members of the Supervisory Board of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH:

Chairman: Dr. Peter Tschentscher
First Mayor of Hamburg 

Vice-Chairwoman: Senator Dr. Dorothee Stapelfeldt
Urban Development and Housing Minister

Senator Dr. Andreas Dressel
Finance Minister

Senator Jens Kerstan
Environment and Energy Minister

Jana Schiedek
State Secretary in the Ministry of Culture

Senator Michael Westhagemann
Economic, Transport and Innovation Minister

Advisory Board


The Advisory Board of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH

A high-caliber consulting body comprising nine selected members was constituted February 7, 2005, to advise the management of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH on all fundamental issues related to the development of HafenCity Hamburg. The Advisory Board of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH is particularly concerned with the following subjects: continuing development of the Masterplan, continuing development of development planning, compilation of the development plan, continuing development of the uses concept, as well as communication and marketing.

The Advisory Council of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH comprises at least six expert members, together with institutional members including the chairman/president of the Chamber of Trades, the Chamber of Crafts, the Architects’ Chamber and the City Center Sponsors’ Association. The chairman of the Advisory Board and his deputy are elected by a majority vote of the board. The Advisory Board meets at least twice a year with the management of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH. Members of the board are appointed by the Supervisory Board of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH for a period of two years; their posts are honorary.

Members of the Advisory Board of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH:

Andreas Bartmann
President of Handelsverband Nord
Managing Director of Globetrotter Equipment

Prof. Kees Christiaanse
KCAP Architects and Planners Zurich

Ludwig Görtz
President of Trägerverbund Projekt Innenstadt

Prof. Dr. Uwe M. Schneede
Curator, Director of Hamburger Kunsthalle (1991-2006)

Karin Loosen
President of Hamburgische Architektenkammer

Tanja Heine
President of Netzwerk HafenCity

Prof. Norbert Aust
President of Tourismusverband Hamburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Carsten Gertz
Institute for Traffic Planning and Logistics, TU Hamburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Krüger
Project developement and management in Urban Planning, HafenCity University Hamburg

Dr. Frank Billand
Former member of Executive Board of Union Investment Real Estate

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Gerhard
Center for American Studies and Institute for Geography, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Menzl
Department of the Built Environment, Luebeck University of Applied Sciences