Executive board

The HafenCity Hamburg GmbH team

Implementing major urban development initiatives and creating new city districts is a mammoth task. Management requirements are high and the complex tasks range from forward-looking planning and intensive process control to bringing together a wide variety of stakeholders.

The overall responsibility for planning and implementing HafenCity, Grasbrook, Billebogen and Science City Hamburg Bahrenfeld is concentrated in HafenCity Hamburg GmbH and its subsidiaries. In this integrated urban development task, the municipal enterprise benefits from the broad expertise of its entire workforce: A dedicated team of engineers, site developers, lawyers, economists, cultural and humanities experts, social scientists, geographers and landscape architects are today working closely together to build the city of tomorrow.

The Executive Board comprises Theresa Twachtmann and Dr Andreas Kleinau (CEO). Henning Liebig, Dr Gesa Matthes, Nina Schaube and Peter Schulte form the extended management team.

Executive Board

Chief Executive Officer

Dr Andreas Kleinau

Born in Hamburg, Dr Andreas Kleinau studied business administration at the University of Hamburg and obtained a doctorate in business data processing. He began his professional career in 1993 with Quickborner Team, a company specializing in organizational and real estate consultancy. Five years later he founded macon Gesellschaft für Unternehmensberatung mbH, based in Munich.

Here Andreas Kleinau developed location strategies, building concepts and innovative work and organization solutions on behalf of national and international companies, turning the company into one of the best regarded consultancy firms in the German real estate industry. 
In 2015, Andreas Kleinau and his fellow partners founded the internationally active real estate advisory company combine Consulting GmbH with offices in Hamburg, Berlin, Munich and Düsseldorf, the product of a merger of macon and Quickborner Team.

At combine and his previous companies, Andreas Kleinau 
advised numerous well-known clients from business and the public sector with regard to their corporate real estate strategies. In an advisory role, he supported the decision-making processes for numerous major projects, including in HafenCity. These included the new corporate headquarters for Spiegel, DNVGL, Unilever and New Work (formally XING). Dr Kleinau joined the executive board of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH in fall 2020, taking over as CEO in November 2021.

Managing Executive

Theresa Twachtmann

Until joining HafenCity Hamburg GmbH, Theresa Twachtmann was Head of Finance, Controlling and Treasury for the public transport body Hamburger Hochbahn. After a degree in business administration, she began her career as a strategy and banking consultant at IBM in Switzerland.

In 2008, she became commercial director of the prestigious Lucerne Festival and also completed a master’s degree in arts administration. She moved to Hamburg in 2013, where she initially took over the commercial management of the Thalia Theater and later worked as an independent management consultant for the Elbphilharmonie, among other projects.

In addition to her many years of experience of management in the private, public and cultural sectors, Theresa Twachtmann has also been a member of several supervisory boards. Due to her involvement in a wide range of projects, some of them international, she also has a broad understanding of urban planning and the political sphere.

Extended Management Team

Integrated Planning & Implementation

Henning Liebig

Henning Liebig has worked at HafenCity Hamburg GmbH since 2005. Here he has been responsible, most recently as authorized signatory, for multiple planning and implementation processes such as the Grasbrook urban development initiative.

Henning Liebig previously worked for various engineering firms. Earlier roles were with CBP Cronauer Beratung Planung, IBV Ingenieurbüro Vössing and HPC Harress Pickel Consult. The graduate in civil engineering (FH) and real estate economist (ADI) began his career at the Dywidag construction group.

Strategic Innovation 

Dr Gesa Matthes

Dr Gesa Matthes studied town planning and, following her doctorate at Hamburg University of Technology, worked there initially as a research associate at the Institute for Transport Planning and Logistics, before moving to the Institute for Social-Ecological Research in Frankfurt in a similar capacity.

Before joining HafenCity Hamburg GmbH, the engineering graduate was a specialist for transport issues in urban development at Hamburg’s Ministry of Transport and the Mobility Revolution (BVM).

Contract and Allocation 
Management

Nina Schaube

After studying law and political science at the University of Trier, Nina Schaube initially worked as a consultant in Luxembourg. Following her second juridical state examination, she joined Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer as a lawyer before moving to the Hamburg law firm trûon.  

Until joining HafenCity Hamburg GmbH, she was employed by the City of Hamburg’s real estate and land assets management body, initially as an in-house lawyer and later as head of the purchasing department.

Finance and Controlling 

Peter Schulte

Peter Schulte has headed up the Finance and Controlling department at HafenCity Hamburg GmbH since 2016. Before joining the company in 2010, the naval reserve officer held various positions in the areas of finance, controlling and accounting with the Federal German Armed Forces as well as in the City of Hamburg (finance ministry).

An economics graduate (Helmut Schmidt University), in 2011 he also gained an MBA from the 
Nordakademie Elmshorn. 

Further information

Urban development

About HafenCity

Europe’s largest inner-city urban development project as a blueprint for the new European city on the waterfront.

Career

We’re recruiting

Become part of a committed and highly professional team and seize the opportunity to play your part in shaping Hamburg. 

Organization

HafenCity Hamburg GmbH

Integrated development management is the only route to success in creating completely new urban districts.
No content

Geschäftsführung

Das Team der HafenCity Hamburg GmbH

Große Stadtentwicklungsvorhaben umzusetzen und neue Stadtteile entstehen zu lassen - das ist eine Mammutaufgabe. Der Steuerungsbedarf ist hoch und die komplexen Aufgaben reichen von vorausschauender Planung über intensive Steuerung von Prozessen bis hin zum Zusammenbringen verschiedenster Akteur:innen. 

Die Gesamtverantwortung für die Konzeption und die Realisierung der HafenCity, des Grasbrook, des Billebogens und der Science City Hamburg Bahrenfeld wird bei der HafenCity Hamburg GmbH und ihren Tochtergesellschaften gebündelt. Das städtische Unternehmen profitiert bei dieser integrierten Stadtentwicklungsaufgabe von der breiten fachlichen Aufstellung seiner gesamten Mitarbeiterschaft: Ein engagiertes Team aus Ingenieur:innen, Stadtplaner:innen, Grundstücksentwickler:innen, Jurist:innen, Ökonom:innen, Kulturwissenschaftler:innen, Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftler:innen, Geograf:innen und Landschaftsarchitekt:innen arbeiten eng zusammen und bauen schon heute die Stadt von morgen. 

Die Geschäftsführung besteht aus Dr. Andreas Kleinau (Vorsitzender) und Theresa Twachtmann. Henning Liebig, Dr. Gesa Matthes, Nina Schaube und Peter Schulte bilden das erweiterte Leitungsteam.

Geschäftsführung

Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung

Dr. Andreas Kleinau

Der gebürtige Hamburger Dr. Andreas Kleinau begann nach dem Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Hamburg und einer Promotion am Arbeitsbereich für Betriebswirtschaftliche Datenverarbeitung 1993 seine berufliche Laufbahn bei dem auf Organisations- und Immobilienberatung spezialisierten Unternehmen Quickborner Team. Fünf Jahre später gründete er die macon Gesellschaft für Unternehmensberatung mbH mit Sitz in München. 

Hier entwickelte Dr. Kleinau im Auftrag nationaler und internationaler Unternehmen Standortstrategien, Gebäudekonzepte sowie innovative Arbeits- und Organisationslösungen und formte aus der Gesellschaft eine der renommiertesten Beratungsfirmen der deutschen Immobilienbranche. Im Jahre 2015 gründete Dr. Kleinau gemeinsam mit seinen Mitgesellschaftenden die international tätige Immobilienberatungsgesellschaft combine Consulting GmbH mit Niederlassungen in Hamburg, Berlin, München und Düsseldorf, die aus einer Fusion von macon und Quickborner Team hervorging.

Bei combine und den vorangegangen Firmen betreute Dr. Kleinau zahlreiche namhafte Kund:innen aus Wirtschaft und öffentlicher Hand im Zusammenhang mit der Ausgestaltung ihrer Corporate Real Estate Strategien. In beratender Rolle begleitete er die Entscheidungsprozesse zahlreicher Großprojekte, auch in der HafenCity. Hierzu gehören u. a. die neuen Unternehmenszentralen von Spiegel, DNVGL, Unilever und New Work (vormals XING). Im Herbst 2020 trat Dr. Kleinau in die Geschäftsführung der HafenCity Hamburg GmbH ein, deren Vorsitz er im November 2021 übernahm.

Geschäftsführerin

Theresa Twachtmann

Theresa Twachtmann war bis zu ihrem Wechsel zur HafenCity Hamburg GmbH als Leiterin Finanzen, Controlling und Treasury bei der Hamburger Hochbahn tätig. Ihre Karriere begann die studierte Diplom-Betriebswirtin als Strategie- und Bankberaterin bei dem Unternehmen IBM in der Schweiz. 

2008 wurde sie kaufmännische Leiterin des renommierten „Lucerne Festival“ und absolvierte zudem einen Master in Arts Administration. 2013 kam sie nach Hamburg, wo sie zunächst die kaufmännische Geschäftsführung des Thalia Theaters übernahm und später als selbstständige Unternehmensberaterin unter anderem für die Elbphilharmonie tätig war. 

Zusätzlich zu der langjährigen Managementerfahrung im privatwirtschaftlichen, öffentlichen und kulturellen Sektor war Twachtmann als Aufsichtsrätin in mehreren Aufsichtsgremien tätig. Aufgrund ihrer Beteiligung an vielfältigen, teils internationalen Projekten, verfügt sie zudem über ein weitreichendes Verständnis in städtebaulichen und politischen Kontexten.

Erweitertes Leitungsteam

Integrierte Planung & Realisierung

Henning Liebig

Henning Liebig arbeitet seit 2005 bei der HafenCity Hamburg GmbH. Hier verantwortete er, zuletzt als Prokurist, u.a. multiple Planungs- und Realisierungsprozesse wie das Stadtentwicklungsvorhaben Grasbrook. 

Zuvor war Liebig bei verschiedenen Ingenieurbüros beschäftigt. Seine Stationen waren CBP Cronauer Beratung Planung, das IBV Ingenieurbüro Vössing sowie HPC Harress Pickel Consult. Seine Karriere begann der studierte Diplom-Bauingenieur (FH) und Diplom-Immobilienökonom (ADI) beim Baukonzern Dywidag.

Strategische Innovation 

Dr. Gesa Matthes

Die studierte Ingenieurin (Fachrichtung Stadtplanung) arbeitete nach ihrer Promotion an der Technischen Universität Hamburg dort zunächst als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Verkehrsplanung und Logistik, bevor sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin ans Institut für sozial-ökologische Forschung nach Frankfurt ging. 

Vor ihrem Wechsel zur HafenCity Hamburg GmbH war Dr. Matthes Fachreferentin für Verkehrsbelange in der Stadtentwicklung in der Behörde für Verkehr und Mobilitätswende (BVM) der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg.

Vertrags- und Vergabemanagement

Nina Schaube

Nach ihrem Studium der Rechts- und Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Trier arbeitete Nina Schaube zunächst als Consultant in Luxemburg, um im Anschluss an das zweite juristische Staatsexamen als Rechtsanwältin erst zu Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, dann zu trûon Rechtsanwälte nach Hamburg zu gehen. 

Bis zu ihrem Eintritt in die HafenCity Hamburg GmbH war sie beim Landesbetrieb Immobilienmanagement und Grundvermögen (LIG) der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg beschäftigt, zunächst als Syndikusanwältin, später als Referatsleitung Ankauf.

Finanzen und Controlling 

Peter Schulte

Peter Schulte leitet seit 2016 den Bereich Finanzen und Controlling bei der HafenCity Hamburg GmbH. Vor seinem Eintritt in das Unternehmen im Jahr 2010 war der Reserveoffizier der Marine in verschiedenen Positionen im Bereich Finanzierung, Controlling und Rechnungswesen bei der Bundeswehr sowie bei der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg (Finanzbehörde) tätig. 

Der diplomierte Volkswirt (Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg) hält seit 2011 einen MBA der Nordakademie Elmshorn. 

Weitere Informationen

Stadtentwicklung

Über die HafenCity

Europas größtes innerstädtisches Stadtentwicklungsvorhaben als Modell für die neue nachhaltige europäische City am Wasser.

Karriere

Wir stellen ein

Werden Sie Teil eines engagierten und hoch professionell arbeitenden Teams und nutzen Sie die Mög­lich­keit, Ihren Teil zur Gestaltung Hamburgs beizutragen.

Organisation

HafenCity Hamburg GmbH

Nur durch ein integriertes Entwicklungsmanagement kann die Realisierung vollkommen neuer Stadtteile gelingen. 
No content